For You, Daddy!

Thursday, 15 December 2011

Why and Why Now

Filed under: Blogging — by For you, Daddy! @ 3:00 pm
Tags: , ,

I have liked writing as much as I did reading for as long as I can remember. Not poetry or prose; no, nothing as profound as that. I liked writing letters to relatives who lived in other parts of the country and the world. I liked writing essays in school. I even liked the exercise in English literature class wherein we constructed sentences using words we had just learned in our school lesson.

After I left high school, my creative writing was restricted to mail alone. Since I began writing my newsletters in 2006 to a bigger group of my contacts, I’ve been told several times by some of them that I ought to blog or write where I could reach a wider reader base. I appreciated their encouragement, but I was held back by apprehensions over privacy.

I’ve experienced some difficult emotional times in the past 3 years. Despite that, I have had, and still do have, a good grip on my life due to my faith, my family and my friends. Reading a couple of blogs, too, helped bolster my spirits if they threatened to sag. Blogs written by strangers taught me about things I didn’t know; oh, just random things that connected dots sometimes, or took me into completely new terrain at other times. Some blogs made me smile, some made me laugh. An upward curve of the mouth or the mouth opened wide with head thrown back is welcome no matter the emotional climate!

I noticed the growing influence in my life of blogs written by people I do not know at all and one day, a few months ago …

This image is licensed under Creative Commons. Thank you, cheerfulmonk, for letting me share your luminescence!

I realised I could still help people the way Daddy would have liked me to!

In the past, when the people I care about went through dips in life, I was not always right next to them to  alleviate their pain or to make them feel less lonely, but my written word came pretty darned close to wrapping my arms around their slumped shoulders, some told me. Others said they felt energised by my tales, and that caused them to be tail-between-the-legs no more. And there were a handful of others who blurted something along the lines of, “Kate, you are one cray-zay woman!” I prefer to interpret those as compliments.

So, since my hammer-and-tongs hands (which is beaten in volume only by my motor mouth) could elicit such responses from people I know, could my words then have the same effect on people I do not know at all? A pretty ambitious thought. And there’s only one way to find out.

As mentioned in  the ‘About This Blog’ page, I have chosen not to tell any of the people I know about this blog; not even those on the character roll. I want readers to be drawn to my blog on the strength of my narrative. Not because I am some font of wisdom; not by a long shot! But because I learn from people I don’t know at all, too; by observing them and reading about them in their own words or someone else’s. I hope to pass on my experience and views with the same hope that it may help someone in some way. If you happen to crack a smile or chuckle even while perusing my posts, even better!

In my fourth and current career avatar as a social worker, I try to do what I can to make the people I come in contact with feel a little less burdened, a little less alone.

Thank you, Colin Gibson, for permitting me the use of your image.

As Daddy wished all those years ago, I am ready to reach out to a wider group. Finally.

10 Comments »

  1. This post warmed my heart. Thank you!

    I never liked writing compositions for English class, but I did love writing letters. Unfortunately my friends for the most part didn’t, so I wrote in my journal, millions of words over the years, to be tossed out later. But that wasn’t the point, it was the process that counted. I love blogging because now I get to share experiences with other people. I post something then they share their experiences in the comments. If that isn’t seventh heaven I don’t know what else is. 🙂

    Like

    Comment by Cheerful Monk — Friday, 16 December 2011 @ 3:28 am |Reply

    • >so I wrote in my journal, millions of words over the years, to be tossed out later.
      – Ack! I love reading back on old notes. Shows how far we’ve come, so to speak. Thank goodness, this is a better medium for preservation of thoughts.

      >But that wasn’t the point, it was the process that counted.
      – This is a big part of why I write.

      >I love blogging because now I get to share experiences with other people.
      – Likewise.

      >I post something then they share their experiences in the comments. If that isn’t seventh heaven I don’t know what else is. 🙂
      – A wedge of chocolate mud cake? 😉 Besides, learning and sharing, the narcissist in me likes to know that someone somewhere is reading what I write.

      Thank you again for your generosity, Cheerful Monk!

      Kate

      Like

      Comment by For you, Daddy! — Friday, 16 December 2011 @ 9:26 am |Reply

  2. So beautifully written, Kate. Don’t stop! You touch the hearts of the reader with your care and compassion, my friend!

    Like

    Comment by mj monaghan — Wednesday, 21 December 2011 @ 12:18 am |Reply

    • >Don’t stop!
      – Not a chance! 😉

      On a serious note, the ‘Schedule’ function is a laggard because it didn’t publish this post when I, uh, told it to. Fortunately, I had access to a PC (my assignments take me into the hinterlands sometimes) and therefore, I could hit the ‘Publish Now’ button about three hours after I had scheduled it.

      Like

      Comment by For you, Daddy! — Wednesday, 21 December 2011 @ 8:21 am |Reply

  3. Hi Kate, Please come over to Cheerful Monk’s blog just this once You don’t have to subscribe but 3 people have wanted to hear from you.

    http://cheerfulmonk.com/2011/12/18/not-quite-yet/

    Like

    Comment by bikehikebabe — Friday, 23 December 2011 @ 10:22 pm |Reply

  4. Your Dad must be very proud…

    Like

    Comment by The Hook — Friday, 27 January 2012 @ 6:46 pm |Reply

  5. Hey Kate, You seem like such a loving, compassionate person. You are very inspiring in your writings, revealing a prime example of what social workers should be made out of to truly touch the people that need it the most. I am so sorry for the lost of your father. It is obvious, he was your hero. He is no doubt watching you via the spiritual world as you write. While I adored my father (also deceased), it was my mother that really understood and motivated me. Of course, she too is gone now. But I hold both parents very close to my heart with a spiritual energy that comes with belief that they have never ‘really’ died. From what I’ve read in your writing, I sense, you too know that your father is beside you as your share yourself with the world. I am glad I ran across your blog. You give me so much inspiration. I look forward to seeing more of your writings in the future.

    Like

    Comment by orples — Wednesday, 8 February 2012 @ 9:44 am |Reply

    • >Hey Kate, You seem like such a loving, compassionate person.
      – “Seem” is the key word because, yes, I can be that. I can also be one heckuva grouch when someone annoys me or when I’m hungry.

      >You are very inspiring in your writings, revealing a prime example of what social workers should be made out of to truly touch the people that need it the most.
      – I was a Nurse Clinician at first and switched to social work two years ago. For a while in between, I was a teacher and also, in the corporate world where it was all about the ‘mah-nay hah-nay’. No regrets about that stint at all because that’s what led me back to working with people and helping them directly in some way.

      >While I adored my father (also deceased), it was my mother that really understood and motivated me.
      – Mummy’s an equally huge influence on my life even today. I was Daddy’s tail simply because he was the ‘good cop’. Mum, owing to her being a (British) army brat, was very strict with us, children. But I inherit her outspokenness, her kindness and her height. (She is three inches taller than Daddy was.) For a few years now, I’ve been worrying her to pass on her lovely silver, gray locks as well. 🙂

      Oh, by the way, Big Bro. Big Sis and I are not too infrequently told how none of us look like Mum. She is one purrty lady. I am really glad not to have Mum’s looks because I’ve seen how she got (and still gets) attention for her looks much before people could/can even discover that she had/has much more to offer in terms of her personality and her character instead of her ephemeral, superficial packaging alone.

      >I look forward to seeing more of your writings in the future.
      – You, too, come across as a kind person with the ego out of sight, Marcy. I dig people like that. 🙂 So I RSSed you as soon as I read a couple of your back issues.

      Thank you for your kind words and time, Marcy. Good luck with The Orples. (What a cute name!)

      Kate

      Like

      Comment by For you, Daddy! — Thursday, 9 February 2012 @ 3:01 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

