For You, Daddy!

Monday, 1 July 2013

Comment Ça Va?

 

 

Bien, I hope, mes amies?

 

 

(For those who do not understand French:

Comment ça va? = How’s it going?

Bien = Well/Fine/Good.

Mes amies  = My friends. )

 

 

What’s with the jingle-jangled English-French?

 

 

Well. It’s Canada Day today. So ‘Happy Canada Day!‘ to my handful of Canuck readers!

 

 

Is that why I bilingual-ed ?

 

 

Um, no.

 

 

Okay. I am too lazy to pretend much longer, so I’ll spit it out – this post is based on a reader’s comment, and I tried to hint at that in the title.

 

 

“Huh”, you say?

 

 

Right. I’ll explain.

 

 

As mentioned in my last post,

Listen to Your Heart

http://foryoudaddy.wordpress.com/2013/06/01/listen-to-your-heart/

I was away on a 3-week holiday with Mum. Since I got back a week ago, I haven’t been in the right frame of mind to work on the topic that I had slotted for this month’s post.

 

 

I like to enjoy everything I do, my routine activities included. I do not like stressing myself out in any which way and I don’t like giving whoever or whatever less than my best. Hence, I’ve mastered the cunning wonderful art of pacing myself and prioritising.

 

 

Since I wasn’t in a mood to cobble together a regular post

and

Since I owed The Hook a reply to the comment he had left on my previous post

Two birds + One stone — Bam! —> This post!

Comment ça va indeed! ;-)

 

 

Thank you, Hook, for bailing me out letting me reply to your earlier comment in this post. Take a bow:

 

 

 

You’ve Been Hooked!  

Observations from the trenches….

http://youvebeenhooked.wordpress.com/

 

and

 

The Book of Terrible

Shining a Light on Mankind’s missteps…

http://thebookofterrible.wordpress.com/

 

 

 

The Hook and I have a few things in common. One of them – we love dogs. So does Bestie Boy.

 

 

 

Yes, this … this … is my friend.
And that’s the family pet.

 

 

 

Bestie Boy attended a doggie event over a recent weekend. Here’s an excerpt of his experience.

 

 

Bestie Boy: The annual Dog Club garden party was one of the weirdest ‘little [Name Of His Country]‘ events I’ve ever been to!  Literally hundreds of dogs running about sniffing each other’s ars#s and gobbling sausages and cake … what better way to spend a Sunday?

 

 

Fortunately, my other friend, The Hook, is tame and well behaved.

 

 

Hark! Check out ze cutie!

 

 

 

Meet The Hook’s doggie.
Call her Chelsea. She’ll respond to you.

 

 

 

Get this! Chelsea speaks! Like, for realsies, people! Check out her bow wows here:

 

 

Two Guest Posts For The Price of One!

http://youvebeenhooked.wordpress.com/2013/05/08/two-guest-posts-for-the-price-of-one/

 

 

Back to The Hook.

 

 

Chelsea’s Handler had a medical crisis in the family recently and he has written an uncommon, practical list of battle acquired tips after his too-close-for-comfort encounter.

 

 

If you happen to be in the same unfortunate boat, I recommend you head over to

The !ndie Chicks

http://theindiechicks.com/

and read:

The Hook’s Guide To Being A Medical Wing-man

http://theindiechicks.com/indie-dicks/the-hooks-guide-to-being-a-medical-wing-man/

 

 

Now, onto the comment and response.

 

 

Hook’s Original Comment

Kate, Thank you for the musical therapy, the journey through time, and for just being you. Be well, my friend. We’ll talk soon. The Hook.

 

 

My Response

>Thank you for the musical therapy,

- You’re welcome, Hook!

 

It is fitting that you use the word ‘therapy’. I thought of an article I had read that explained the science behind the therapy of music. Title, link and a key quote next.

Why Your Brain Craves Music

http://science.time.com/2013/04/15/music/

“When we’re listening to music, the most advanced areas of the brain tie in to the most ancient.”

 

>the journey through time,

- I’m glad that you enjoyed your flashback. I felt good, too, going back two decades while working on that post.  

 

I was quite a big Roxette fan(atic). Aped Marie Fredriksson’s moves, outfits and hairdos. I stopped at bleaching my spikes blonde though.

 

>and for just being you.

- Well, yes, I can be nice for the most part. Just make sure you don’t catch me when I’m hungry or angry. ;-)

 

>Be well, my friend.

- I was, Hook. Still am.

 

>We’ll talk soon.

- We certainly did! Thanks for putting up with the outta sight chatter, too, especially when you and the family were embroiled in:

The Past is Behind Us. The Future is Out of Reach. So Live for Today.

http://youvebeenhooked.wordpress.com/2013/06/20/the-past-is-behind-us-the-future-is-out-of-reach-so-live-for-today/

 

>Glad to hear you and Mum had fun.

- The fun bits were guaranteed, so to speak, but that our travels across 4 small towns/cities were mishap free is something I am very grateful for. 

 

 I’ll spare you yet another 1,000 words and let Mum’s smile say it all. 

 

 

 

Still smiling when we landed a rustic town after a 14 hour train ride.

Oh, look! By responding to a comment here, I’ve managed to cobble together a decent post!

 

 

A novel concept? Not likely.

Convenient? Most definitely.

Cunning? Um, comment ça va, mes amies?

 

 

 



Thank you, ArchangelTravel and GLENN FOLKES, for signing up to follow my posts.

 

Thank you, You’ve Been Hooked!  and FLOWERSBLOOMS by “Elvie”, for commenting on my last post.

 

Thank you, You’ve Been Hooked! and FLOWERSBLOOMS by “Elvie”, for liking my last post.

 

***********************************************************************

 

P.S.: Cheerful Monk adds a footnote to every post acknowledging those who comment on her previous post. She also links the commenters’ names back to their own blogs.

 

I like both these practices of acknowledging the time and effort made to comment, and the free advertising! So I’m doing what I do well – being a copycat!  



5 Comments »

  1. Mum’s smile definitely says it all, Kate!
    Thank you for honoring yours truly, Chelsea and our work. I’ve said it before, Kate and I’ll say it again, you’ve made your father and everyone you’ve ever met very proud to know you.

    Be well, my friend.

    Comment by The Hook — Monday, 1 July 2013 @ 2:24 pm |Reply

    • >Mum’s smile definitely says it all, Kate!
      – This was one of the many times that Mum surprised me.

      In this photograph, we are at a small town station we alighted at en route to our final destination at that point in our trip. The train journey itself was very comfortable, but the amenities, rather the lack of, at that station, was not something Mum is terribly familiar or comfortable with. I carried her wheely bag not to pose, but because our path was uneven and rough. Yet at that time and a few other similar instances, she was understanding and patient.

      Mum’s always been ‘nice’, so to speak, but at her nearly 82 years of age, I expect some amount of, um, rumbling. Nada. Like h#ll, I’ve inherited that gene! ;-)

      >Thank you for honoring yours truly, Chelsea and our work.
      – Well, I have a bit of a reputation, you know, Hook?

      If I don’t like something someone has done, I grumble to the person concerned (if I deem it worth it). Then I unleash completely to The Dude and my inner circle.

      But if I like something that someone has done? Dude and Inner Circle be, um, d#mned. The whole d#mn world will d#mn well know. And I’ll do the, um, duded#mn hollering.

      Which of the two categories above do you think you belong to? That’s a trick question, Hook! Don’t answer it! ;-)

      >I’ve said it before, Kate and I’ll say it again, you’ve made your father
      – OMGOMGOMGDADDYYOUSAIDDADDY

      *deep breaths*

      You said more, too. This:

      >and everyone you’ve ever met very proud to know you.
      – I read this last evening in the fading hours of Canada Day. My head exploded resplendently, like the skies over Ontario Place with the fireworks on Canada Day night.

      Ooh, and you went to St.Jacob’s recently. Summer. Fall. Every year. A weekend. Each time. Sigh.

      Now about this post and you.

      I know I did not have to write a post this month, but I wanted to.

      I know that I could have written about something else altogether, but I wanted to write a post based on my readers’ comments. For a change of pace primarily.

      For indulging my whim, thank you, Hook.

      Kate

      Comment by For you, Daddy! — Tuesday, 2 July 2013 @ 7:21 am |Reply

      • I am here to serve, dear lady.
        Thank you for everything, Kate.

        Comment by The Hook — Tuesday, 2 July 2013 @ 7:23 am

  2. Looks like you and mom had a great time together during your 3-week holiday ! Your mom’s smile say she is not tired after a 14 hour train ride because she is so excited to see your town and all your wonderful relatives. The doggies in this post are so cute…. ” A house is not a home without a dog !” These God given creatures are amazingly great companions. They are my stress busters after a long busy working day. Thank God we have furry friends and great to know that you and some of your friends are dog lovers as well. Have a great Doggie Day ! :)

    Comment by elvierose67 — Saturday, 20 July 2013 @ 6:27 pm |Reply

    • >Looks like you and mom had a great time together during your 3-week holiday !
      – We did. We had planned and hoped to have a good time, but what made it great is that everything went according to plan and there were no hitches of any sort at any time. I am very thankful for that.

      >Your mom’s smile say she is not tired after a 14 hour train ride because she is so excited to see your town and all your wonderful relatives.
      – Oh, Elvie, I wish we lived or even had relatives in that town. We were merely visiting a friend who is now posted there on work.

      In my next post, I will talk a little about Liam, our friend who is a Salesian priest. Liam has recently been transferred to this town which happens to be down the road, more like down the mountain range, from the next little town where we spent a few days with other friends. That mountainous area is a popular holiday spot with city dwellers.

      >The doggies in this post are so cute….
      – Thank you! Neither is mine, of course.

      The Hook, graciously as always, gave me permission to share Chelsea’s picture along with his previous comment. As for Bestie Boy, I can’t ask him for permission to flaunt his pics because he does not know about this blog.

      >” A house is not a home without a dog !”
      – Amen!

      >These God given creatures are amazingly great companions. They are my stress busters after a long busy working day.
      – I don’t own a dog anymore. With the amount I travel, I think it’s unfair to saddle Mum with doggie duties in my absence. (Even though we have house help, Mum feels responsible.) I make do with two street dogs who walk in at meal times, and then head back to the street where they are happy.

      My cat is off the street, too. I took her away from her mother when she was three weeks old because her mother began hissing at her when she was still so little. Her mother and a whole lot of other street cats eat at ours twice a day, too. So yeah, I’ve got my daily pet fix.

      >Thank God we have furry friends
      – Feathered and finned ones as well. I love all animals.

      >and great to know that you and some of your friends are dog lovers as well.
      – Well, I choose my friends well. Nah, kidding.

      Some of my friends have never had a pet. BFF One and BFF Two fall into this category. BFF One is absolutely terrified of any (pet) animal. BFF Two is not scared, but she just doesn’t know how ‘to talk’ to pets. :-(

      >Have a great Doggie Day ! :)
      – Bow wow, Elvie! Yip yip!

      (Translation: Thank you, Elvie! And you, too!)

      Kate

      Comment by For you, Daddy! — Monday, 22 July 2013 @ 9:07 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Toni Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

